Sporadic blindness is what I have been facing lately with all my crazy symptoms. I have lost my vision many times over the past month. My neurologist wants to wait until I get the lumbar puncture (LP) done before prescribing anything or to see how to proceed. She is waiting for the LP because my protein has been high on my blood tests so she is checking for multiple sclerosis (MS), ebstein barr virus (EBV) levels and many other things. Currently I am still waiting for the hospital to call to schedule the LP.

As far as the blindness goes, this is what happens, first everything looks extremely shaky (it looks shaky but I am not shaking – so it’s just the vision appearing to be very shaky like everything is moving in a earthquake) then my vision just goes black … nothing but blackness. It has lasted several minutes then the shaky vision returns and then my vision is back to normal.

I have also lost vision in my left eye but it is simply completely blurry where I cannot make anything out but I can see light.

Before I started losing my vision I did experience several episodes where it seemed everything was moving and I was in a earthquake but 100x fold. Much worse then vertigo. My vision was very erratic as if someone was shaky me violently. Not sure if this was a prelude to the blindness which resulted in blackness. It was a very similar feeling I felt before going blind.

I went to a opthamologist but he said the pressure in my eyes were fine and that my symptoms were either caused by my seizures (I have absent seizures) or it’s neurological and that I should speak with my neurologist. Others in various facebook groups suggested I see a neuro-opthamologist.

My question is has anyone experienced any of this? If so please comment or message me. Thank you!

 

 

