Years ago, I woke up and couldn’t turn my head and the pain ran from my neck into my head. I took various prescription medicines to no avail but nothing helped. After several days of being in pain I finally decided to go to the hospital. They ran tests for meningitis and did a CT scan. When the doctor returned to my room he said it was the worse case of torticollis he saw.

The doctor then prescribed robaxin 500mg 3x a day, naproxen 400mg every 6-8 hrs and percocets every 4 hours and was told to put ice on it for the first few days and heat thereafter. Remarkably it helped … Thank You God! Because it was the worst case the doctor ever saw he asked if I needed 4-6 weeks off from work to recover but I declined because I am a stay at home mom so what do we do … the best we can for our kids and keep moving.

The reason I am writing this is to inform you of torticollis. I am not sure why this has happened to me or what condition it is related to but wanted to give everyone the heads up. It was so severe I couldn’t turn or lift my chin up. I love my coffee and I resorted to using a straw … that was literally the straw that broke the camels back. All I tasted was a melting, burnt straw … yuck! Plus I am a talker so the torticollis prevented me from doing as much talking and laughing was painful.

After the first initial bout of torticollis every winter thereafter it would flare up again and again and again. It continued until I was placed on robaxin 500mg 3x daily then it stopped.

The last time I went to the hospital the torticollis was so severe when I swallowed I’d hear a thud and it would hurt so bad. Once again they checked me for meningitis but it came up negative and once again torticollis was confirmed. When I had problems swallowing and breathing it did scare me. I was afraid that it would get so severe it block my airway but one neurologist said no that could not happen which I still am in denial for that because of the way it felt and I trust how I feel over what a doctor says.

Big hugs to all. If you have questions write them in the comments below.

 

 

